NHS inducts 62 members


Martin Del Vecchio

NHS class of 2023 secretary, Eliana Cracchiolo, leads new inductees in the NHS pledge.


Last night, 62 students at Gloucester High School were inducted into the National Honor Society.

Vice President of the NHS class of 2022-2023, Camilla Wilkins-Bowens, gave the annual report, and revealed that the NHS class of 2022-2023 has completed over 1,000 hours of community service, and challenged the new inductees to achieve even more in the following year.

NHS President Michael Francis, Vice President Camilla Wilkins-Bowens, Secretary Eliana Cracchiolo, and Historian Catherine Sargent spoke about the four pillars of NHS: leadership, character, scholarship, and service.

Awards were also given for each pillar by the NHS advisor, Rayanne Menery Sammataro. Tyler Weed was given the award for scholarship, Kyia Karvelas for service, Eliana Cracchiolo for character, and Michael Francis for leadership. 

The ceremony also included a flag salute, performed by Catherine Sargent, and the national anthem, performed by Emily Gossom, as well as speeches from Mayor Greg Verga, School Committee Chairperson Kathleen Clancy, Superintendent of Schools Ben Lummis, Principal James Cook, and keynote speaker Deborah Faunce, who is set to retire at the end of the school year.

New inductees include Justace Allen, Malia Andrews, Larissa Barbien Gut, Willow Barry, Gabriella Bottari, Nicholas Canning, Aria Caputo, Lexi Carollo, Faith Castellucci, Yisberlin Castillo Consoro, Miah Cerrutti, Jenna Church, Cole Ciolino, Joie Cody, Ana-Clara Coelho, Jenna Connelly, Ella Costa, Thea Cunningham, Lucas DaSilva, Monique De Aguiar, Andrew Fahim, Isaiah Francis, Kelsy Frontiero, Bella Goulart, Aurelia Harrison, Cooper Hedges, Alycia Hogan-Lopez, Zoey Jackman, Abigail Lowthers, William Lowthers, Jennifer Magalhaes, Luke McElhenny, Althea McHugh, Brook McNiff, Christopher Karvelas, Penelope Keyes, Anders Littman, Allison Merchant, Bailee Militello, Zoe Moriarty, Kayla Nadeau, Tolulola Olubanjo, Ava Orlando, Sofia Orlando, Jordan Palk, Yashvi Patel, Andry Payana Sosa, Jackson Pierce, Bryce Rochford, Colby Rochford, Pamela Sather, Ashlee Scola, April Smith, Isabelle Stauffer, Gauri Taheem, Seville Tran-Harrison, Noah Vicari, Leonardo Vitale, Finnian Wall, Julia Warde, Cameron Widtfeldt, and Jordan Young.

Other photos of the ceremony and inductees receiving their sashes can be found on Martin Del Vecchio’s Flickr page, which is linked here.