The House of Representatives just voted to impeach President Donald Trump for a second time, making him the first president in history to be impeached twice

The impeachment follows the insurrection at the United States Capitol Building, where supporters of President Trump invaded the Capitol Building to stop the certification of the election results.

The resolution passed with a 232-197 vote, with 10 house republicans voting for the impeachment, and 5 not voting.

Among the republicans who voted for the impeachment are Liz Cheney of Wyoming, Adam Kinzinger of Illinois and John Katko of New York. Other house republicans condemned the acts but did not vote for impeachment.

Now, the Articles of Impeachment will be passed to the Senate where a trial will be held after the inauguration of Joe Biden, as Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell will not bring the Senate back early to hold an impeachment trial for President Donald Trump.

A two-thirds majority vote is needed to remove President Trump from office, barring him from running for public office again.

Senate Republicans are split on the issue, with Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell saying “I have not made a final decision on how I will vote” but is said to be pleased with the impeachment efforts.

Meanwhile Lindsey Graham of South Carolina stating “Supporting the impeachment of President Trump under these circumstances will do great damage to the institutions of government and could invite further violence at a time the President is calling for calm.”

If the vote for removal takes place before the new senators take office, the 48 democrats will need 19 republicans to vote for removal to prevent President Trump from running again in 2025.

If it takes place after the new senators take office, 50 democrats will need 17 republicans to vote for removal.